Skip to content
IOP Science

Modelling and Simulation in Materials Science and Engineering

Editorial board

The Editorial Board works with the in-house editorial team to ensure the journal meets its aim of high quality peer review, rapid publication and inclusive subject coverage. Leaders in their fields, they provide final arbitration for scientific disputes and support the rapid peer review of author manuscripts.

In 2020 we welcomed our new Editor-in-Chief, Javier Llorca. We took this opportunity to interview Javier about his vision for the journal, read the interview here.


Javier Llorca Polytechnic University of Madrid & IMDEA Materials Institute, Spain

Executive Editorial Board

Youping Chen University of Florida, USA

Anthony Rollett Carnegie Mellon University, USA

David Srolovitz University of Pennsylvania, USA

Yujie Wei Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Yong-Wei Zhang A*STAR Institute of High Performance Computing, Singapore

Editorial Board

Michael I Baskes Mississippi State University, USA

Richard Becker US Army Medical Research and Material Command, USA

Michel Bellet Ecole des Mines de Paris, France

Yves Bréchet Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble, France

Vasily Bulatov Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA

Wei Cai Stanford University, USA

Abhijit Chatterjee Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India

Vikram Deshpande University of Cambridge, UK

Somnath Ghosh John Hopkins University, USA

Peter Gumbsch Fraunhofer-Institut für Werkstoffmechanik, Germany

Håkan Hallberg Lund University, Sweden

Seungwu Han Seoul National University, South Korea

Abigail Hunter Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA

Masanori Kohyama National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan

Yuri Mishin George Mason University, USA

Dan Mordehai Technion University, Israel

Tim Mueller John Hopkins University, USA

Alfonso Ngan Hong Kong University, Hong Kong

Lucia Nicola Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

Marta Oliveira University of Coimbra, Portugal

Danny Perez Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA

Dierk Raabe Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung, Düsseldorf, Germany

Joerg Rottler University of British Columbia, Canada

Robert Rudd Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA

Katrin Schulz Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Ingo Steinbach Ruhr-Universität-Bochum, Germany

Alejandro Strachan Purdue University, USA

Alexander Urban Columbia University, USA

Muhammad Usman University of Melbourne, Australia

Francois Willaime CEA-Saclay Reserach Centre, France

Dongsheng Xu Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Yang Xiang Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong

Ruifeng Zhang Beihang University, China

Back to top