Skip to content
IOP Science

Journal of Physics Communications

Editorial board

Executive editorial board

The Executive Editorial Board of Journal of Physics Communications works with the in-house editorial team to ensure the journal meets its aim of high quality peer review, rapid publication and inclusive coverage of all physics research. Leaders in their fields, they provide final arbitration for scientific disputes and advice on emerging subjects and potential Editorial Board members.

The Editorial Board includes prominent researchers and emerging leaders from all areas of physics. They represent all geographic regions and support the rapid peer review of author manuscripts.

Executive Editorial Board

Wu-Ming Liu Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Professor Wu-Ming Liu is group leader of the Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences. He obtained his Ph. D. degree at the Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences in June 1994, then was Postdoctoral Fellow, Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences (1994 – 1996), Associate Professor, Institute of Theoretical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, (1996 – 1998), Research Scientist, Department of Physics, University of Texas at Austin (1998 – 2000), Research Scientist, Bartol Research Institute, University of Delaware (2000 – 2002). His main research interest is exploring novel properties of cold atoms, two dimensional materials, strong correlated systems.

Chang Hee Nam IBS Center for Relativistic Laser Science, Gwangju Institute of Technology, Korea

Chang Hee Nam received his Ph. D. in plasma physics from Princeton University in 1988. After working at Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory as a staff research physicist until 1989, he joined Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST) as a faculty member and became a full professor in 1998. He started the Coherent X-ray Research Center in 1999 with the funding from the Ministry of Science and Technology through the Creative Research Initiative Program. After finishing the CXRC program in 2012, he launched the Center for Relativistic Laser Science (CoReLS), a research center of Institute for Basic Science (IBS), for the exploration of relativistic laser-matter interactions using femtosecond PW lasers at Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology (GIST). He has received several awards including the scientist-of-the-month award from the Ministry of Science and Technology and the award from the National Academy of Science. He has served the scientific advisory committees of ELI – ALPS in Hungary, ELI-NP in Romania, and also Int. Science and Technology Advisory Committee of ELI-DC. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and of the Optical Society of America.

Editorial board

Brian Abbey, La Trobe Institute for Molecular Science, Melbourne, Australia

Monika Aidelsburger, Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich and Max-Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Garching, Germany

David T.C. Allcock, NIST, USA

Sarbajit Banerjee Texas A&M University, USA

Krzysztof Bolejko, University of Tasmania, Australia

Katherine Brown, Hamilton College, NY, USA

Michele Burrello, Copenhagen University, Denmark

Keith Butler, Queen Mary University of London, UK

Barbara Capone, Roma Tre University, Italy

Olalla Castro-Alvaredo, City University, London, UK

Mingee Chung, University of Birmingham, UK

Francesco Ciccarello, DiFC, University of Palermo, Italy

Isabel Cordero-Carrión, University of Valencia, Spain

Kristel Crombé, Ghent University, Belgium

Tie Jun Cui, Southeast University, Nanjing, China

Luisa D’Amore, Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II, Italy

Jiayu Dai, National University of Defence Technology, China

Juan Pablo Dehollain, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia

Angela Demetriadou, University of Birmingham, UK

Marcus Doherty, Australian National University, Canberra, Australia

Anastasia Doikou, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, UK

Ahmed Elsaid, Egypt-Japan University of Science and Technology, Egypt

Nicolai Friis, Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information (IQOQI), Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austria

Marco Genoni, Universit degli Studi di Milano, Italy

Tobias Grass, University of Maryland, College Park, USA

Ying Gu, Peking University, China

Alioscia Hamma, University of Massachusetts Boston, United States of America

Robert Jack, University of Cambridge, UK

Mikko Kivelä , Aalto University, Finland

Polina Kuzhir, University of Eastern Finland, Finland

Lindsay J. LeBlanc, University of Alberta, Canada

Dangyuan Lei, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China

Zhipeng Li, Beijing Key Laboratory for Nano-photonics and Nano-structure, Capital Normal University, Beijing, China

Jaime Llanos, Universidad Católica del Norte, Chile

Wolfgang Löffler, University of Leiden, The Netherlands

Dalal Maturi, King Abdulaziz University, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia–Jeddah

James Millen, King’s College London, UK

Nathan Myers, Virginia Tech, USA

Alexandra Olaya-Castro, University College London, UK

Beatriz Olmos Sanchez, University of Nottingham, UK

Albena Paskaleva, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria

Igor Pažanin, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Francesco Pedaci, Centre de Biochimie Structurale de Montpellier, France

Darwin Putungan, University of the Philippines Los Banos, Philippines

Xavier Roca-Maza, INFN, Milan, Italy

Ivette Rodriguez, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain

Tanusri Saha Dasgupta, S.N. Bose National Centre, India

Jörg Schnau ß, University of Leipzig, Germany

Erdinc Sezgin, University of Oxford, UK

Saray Shai, Wesleyan University, USA

Endre Szili, University of South Australia, Adelaide, Australia

Volodymyr Turkowski, University of Central Florida, USA

Christian Wolff, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark

Bai-Xiang Xu, TU Darmstadt, Germany

Kaikai Xu, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, China

Lucia Zuin, Canadian Light Source Inc., Canada

Magdalena Zych, School of Mathematics and Physics, University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia

Back to top