Researchers from the United States

IOP Publishing has negotiated transformative agreements with multiple institutions and consortia in the USA that will begin on January 1 2023.

” The IOP agreement will be an excellent benefit for NC State. NC State researchers can publish their articles as open access in IOP journals without having to pay the open access fees, increasing discoverability and readership of NC State scholarship”
Hilary Davis, Department Head, Collections & Research Strategy, NC State University Libraries.

Who can benefit?
All corresponding authors who are current staff members, researchers (permanent, temporary and/or visiting), or students at one of the institutions listed below at the time of submission, can publish open access at no cost to themselves. The corresponding author is the author who submits the manuscript and is responsible for communicating with the journal during the submission, peer review and publication process.

What’s included?
• Articles accepted beginning January 1, 2023 will be eligible for transformative agreement funding to enable authors to publish open access with no cost to themselves
• Research paper, special issue, letter and review article types
• Included journals are dependent on your eligible institution, please see the below list for details. Click here for a full title list of eligible journals.

Please note
A small number of journals attach additional charges including, but not limited to, page charges. These remain payable by the authors.
You may find our author guide for submitting under a transformative agreement helpful located in our transformative agreement hub.


Eligible Journals List A, B, C and D

Connecticut College

Furman University

Lawrence Technological University

Mount Holyoke College

North Carolina State University

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Princeton University

Rochester University

Rowan University

University of Central Florida

The Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA):

    • Blue Ridge Community College
    • Brightpoint Community College
    • Central Virginia Community College
    • Christendom College
    • Christopher Newport University
    • Danville Community College
    • Eastern Shore Community College
    • George Mason University
    • Germanna Community College
    • Hampden-Sydney College
    • Hampton University
    • Institute for Advanced Learning and Res
    • J Sargeant Reynolds Community College
    • James Madison University
    • Laurel Ridge Community College
    • Longwood University
    • Mary Washington University
    • Mountain Empire Community College
    • Mountain Gateway Community College
    • New College Institute
    • New River Community College
    • Norfolk State University
    • Northern Virginia Community College
    • Old Dominion University
    • Patrick & Henry Community College
    • Paul D. Camp Community College
    • Piedmont Virginia Community College
    • Radford University
    • Randolph-Macon College
    • Rappahannock Community College
    • Richard Bland College
    • Richmond University
    • Roanoke Higher Education College
    • Southern Virginia Higher Education Center
    • Southside Virginia Community College
    • Southwest Virginia Community College
    • Southwest Virginia Higher Education Center
    • Sweet Briar College
    • Tidewater Community College
    • Virgina College University at Wise
    • Virginia Commonwealth University
    • Virginia Highlands Community College
    • Virginia Military Institute
    • Virginia Peninsula Community College
    • Virginia State University
    • Virginia Tech
    • Virginia University
    • Virginia Western Community College
    • Washington and Lee University
    • William & Mary
    • Wytheville Community College

Eligible Journals List A, B and D

Haverford College

Olin College of Engineering

University of Florida