Skip to content
IOP Science

Researchers from institutions within the Council of Australian University Librarians (CAUL)

IOP Publishing (IOP) has a transformative agreement with Council of Australian University Librarians (CAUL) to enable a transition to open access publishing from 1st January 2023.

Who can benefit?
All corresponding authors that are current staff members, researchers (permanent, temporary and visiting), or students at one of the institutions below at the point of submission, can publish open access at no cost to themselves. The corresponding author is the author that submits the manuscript and is responsible for communicating with the journal during the submission, peer review and publication process.

What’s included?

  • Articles accepted from 1st January 2023 will be eligible for transformative agreement funding to enable authors to publish open access with no cost to themselves
  • Research paper, special issue, letter and review article types
  • Included journals are those in lists A, B, C and D. Click here for a full title list of eligible journals.

Please note
A very limited number of journals carry additional charges. Please access the journal home pages here and check the publication charges tab for further information.
You may find our author guide for submitting under a transformative agreement helpful located in our Transformative Agreement hub.
For more information, please contact your relevant library contact at your university.

Eligible institutions

Auckland University of Technology
Australian National University
Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation
Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
Curtin University
Deakin University
Flinders University
Griffith University
La Trobe University
Macquarie University
Monash University
Murdoch University
Queensland University of Technology
RMIT University
Swinburne University of Technology
University of Adelaide
University of Auckland
University of Canterbury
University of Melbourne
University of Newcastle
University of New South Wales
University of Otago
University of Queensland
University of South Australia
University of Southern Queensland
University of Sydney
University of Tasmania
University of Waikato
University of Wollongong
Victoria University of Wellington
Western Sydney University