Researchers from institutions within the Canadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN)

IOP Publishing (IOP) has a transformative agreement with Canadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN) to enable a transition towards open access publishing.

Current students, staff or faculty of a CRKN institution (whether full or part-time, permanent, temporary, contract or visiting appointments) at time of article acceptance can take advantage of this agreement.

For articles accepted from 15 December 2021 onwards, all eligible articles can be published on an open access basis at no cost to authors. All IOP and many partner journals that offer hybrid or gold open access options are included in the agreement. Click here for a list of eligible journals. This agreement includes journals in List A, B, C and D.

Please note that while the Article Publication Charge (APC) is covered, the page charge or publication fee unrelated to open access are not included in our open access agreements.

How to take advantage of the agreement

This process applies to all primary research article types, including Letters, Papers, Reviews and Special Issue articles.

  1. Submission
    The corresponding (submitting) author must be affiliated to a CRKN institution (listed below). When you submit your article, please supply your affiliation clearly in the article submission form for identification. Please also acknowledge any research funding if asked during submission as well as in the manuscript itself.
  2. At first decision
    If your article is identified you will be notified during the peer-review process or shortly after acceptance, and your paper will automatically be opted in to open access. You’ll be asked to agree to the CC-BY open access licence.
  3. Publication
    Your paper will be published open access under a CC-BY license at no cost to you. You can share it as you wish and the article will comply with funder mandates.

If you have not been alerted before your article is accepted, please contact the journal to ensure that your work is included in the arrangement.

How to get published – a webinar for Canadian researchers September 28th 2022, 11-12am CDT
Register for this webinar to be guided through the world of academic publishing, including how to take advantage of  the agreement with CRKN to publish your work open access.

Institutions included

Acadia University
Athabasca University
Bishop’s University
Brandon University
Carleton University
Concordia University
Dalhousie University
Lakehead University
MacEwan University
McGill University
McMaster University
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Mount Allison University
Mount Saint Vincent University
Ontario Tech University
Polytechnique Montréal
Queen’s University
Royal Military College of Canada (RMC)
Ryerson University
Saint Mary’s University
Simon Fraser University
St. Francis Xavier University
Université de Moncton
Université de Montréal
Université de Sherbrooke
Université du Québec
– École de technologie supérieure (ETS)
– Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS)
University of Alberta
University of British Columbia
University of Calgary
University of Guelph
University of Lethbridge
University of Manitoba
University of New Brunswick (includes St. Thomas)
University of Ottawa
University of Prince Edward Island
University of Regina
University of Saskatchewan
University of Toronto
University of Victoria
University of Waterloo
University of Windsor
University of Winnipeg
Western University
Wilfrid Laurier University
York University