Researchers from institutions within Biblioteca do conhecimento online (B-on)

IOP Publishing (IOP) has a transformative agreement with Biblioteca do conhecimento online (B-on) in Portugal to enable a transition towards open access publishing.

Who can benefit?
All corresponding authors that are current staff members, researchers or students at one of the institutions below at the time of acceptance, can publish open access at no cost to themselves. The corresponding author is the author that submits the manuscript and is responsible for communicating with the journal during the submission, peer review and publication process.

What’s included?
• Research papers, special issues, letters and review article types
• Included journals are those in lists A, B and C in the title list of eligible journals
• 44 articles per year, accepted from 1st January 2022, will be eligible for transformative agreement funding to enable authors to publish open access with no cost to themselves.

Please note
Funding is subject to librarian funding approval at acceptance stage. If for any reason funding is declined, the author(s) will have the opportunity to revert to subscription publication type on journals that offer hybrid publications options, at zero cost to themselves or the member institution.

A small number of journals attract additional charges including but not limited to, page charges. These remain payable by the authors.

You may find our author guide for submitting under a transformative agreement helpful located in our Transformative Agreement hub.

Eligible institutions:

Universidade Aberta
Universidade dos Açores
Banco de Portugal
Instituto Politécnico de Beja
Instituto Politécnico de Bragança
Instituto Politécnico de Castelo Branco
Universidade Católica Portuguesa
Fundação D. Anna de Sommer Champalimaud e Dr. Carlos Montez Champalimaud
Instituto Politécnico de Coimbra
Escola Superior de Enfermagem de Coimbra
Escola Superior Náutica Infante D. Henrique
ENSILIS – Educação e Formação, Unipessoal, Lda.
Escola Superior de Enfermagem de Lisboa
Escola Superior de Hotelaria e Turismo do Estoril
Instituto Politécnico da Guarda
INFARMED – Autoridade Nacional do Medicamento e Produtos de Saúde, I.P.
Instituto Nacional de Medicina Legal e Ciências Forenses, I.P.
Instituto Nacional de Saúde Dr. Ricardo Jorge
Instituto Universitário da Maia (ISMAI)
ISPA – Instituto Universitário de Ciências Psicológicas, Sociais e da Vida
Universidade Autónoma de Lisboa
Instituto Universitário Militar (IUM)
(Universidade Lusíada) Fundação Minerva – Cultura – Ensino e Investigação Científica
Instituto Politécnico de Portalegre
Escola Superior de Enfermagem do Porto
Instituto Politécnico do Porto
Universidade Portucalense Infante D. Henrique
RECET – Associação dos Centros Tecnológicos de Portugal
Instituto Politécnico de Santarém
SCML-Santa Casa da Misericórdia de Lisboa
Instituto Politécnico de Setúbal
Instituto Politécnico de Tomar
Instituto Politécnico de Viana do Castelo
Instituto Politécnico de Viseu
Universidade do Algarve
Universidade de Aveiro
Universidade da Beira Interior
Instituto Politecnico do Cavado e do Ave
CESPU – Cooperativa De Ensino Superior Politécnico e Universitário, C.R.L.
Universidade de Coimbra
Egas Moniz – Cooperativa de Ensino Superior, C.R.L.
Universidade de Évora
Universidade Fernando Pessoa
Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian – Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência
International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory
Instituto Português do Mar e da Atmosfera, I.P.
ISCTE-IUL – Instituto Universitário de Lisboa
Instituto Politécnico de Leiria
Universidade Nova de Lisboa
Instituto Politecnico de Lisboa
Universidade de Lisboa
Universidade Lusófona de Humanidades e Tecnologias
Universidade da Madeira
Universidade do Minho
Nacional de Energia e Geologia, I.P.
Nacional de Engenharia Civil – LNEC
Universidade do Porto
Universidade de Tras-os-Montes e Alto Douro