Open Access in Poland

IOP Publishing (IOP) has an agreement with a number of Polish universities through the ICM consortium which enables researchers to publish their work on an open access basis at no additional cost in the majority of IOP’s hybrid journals. The agreement balances the cost of a limited number of hybrid article publication charges (APCs) against journal license fees for 2020 onwards.

Research articles accepted for publication after 13 July 2020 are eligible, and IOP will automatically identify qualifying articles and inform authors of their inclusion. Included in the agreement are all subscription journals, owned by IOP Publishing, which offer a hybrid open access option. In addition, the agreement also includes selected journals which are published by IOP Publishing on behalf of our society partners.

All IOP and selected partner subscription titles that offer a hybrid open access option are included in the agreement.
Click here for a list of eligible journals. This agreement includes journals in List A.

How to take advantage of the agreement

This process applies to all primary research article types: Letters, Papers and Special Issue articles.

1. Submission
The corresponding (submitting) author must be affiliated with a subscribing institution. When you submit your article please supply your affiliation clearly in the article submission form and in the article itself. Please acknowledge any research funding if asked during submission as well as in the manuscript itself.

2. Identification
If your article is identified you will be notified during the peer-review process or shortly after acceptance and your paper will automatically be opted in to open access. You’ll be asked to agree to the CC-BY open access license. If you wish to opt out please do so within five days of identification.

3. Acceptance

IOP Publishing will validate the article with a dedicated contact at the ICM consortium to approve funding. If for any reason funding is declined, you will have the option to find alternative funding or return to publication at no charge on a subscription basis.

4. Publication
Your paper will be published open access under a CC-BY license at no cost to you. You can share it as you wish and the article will comply with funder mandates.

If you have not been alerted before your article is accepted, please contact the journal to ensure that your work is included in the arrangement.

Institutions included

Uniwersytet im. Adama Mickiewicza w Poznaniu Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan
Akademia Górniczo-Hutnicza im. Stanisława Staszica AGH University of Science and Technology
Uniwersytet w Białymstoku University of Bialystok
Uniwersytet Gdański University of Gdansk
Politechnika Gdańska Gdansk University of Technology
Sieć Badawcza Łukasiewicz – Instytut Technologii Elektronowej Lukasiewicz Research Network – Institute of Electron Technology
Instytut Fizyki PAN Institute of Physics PAS
Instytut Fizyki Plazmy i Laserowej Mikrosyntezy Institute of Plasma Physics and Laser Microfusion
Uniwersytet Jagielloński – Wydział Fizyki, Astronomii i Informatyki Stosowanej Jagiellonian University in Krakow
Uniwersytet Łódzki University of Lodz
Uniwersytet Marii Curie-Skłodowskiej w Lublinie Maria Curie-Sklodowska University in Lublin
Wojskowa Akademia Techniczna im. Jarosława Dąbrowskiego Military University of Technology
Narodowe Centrum Badań Jądrowych National Centre for Nuclear Research
Uniwersytet Mikołaja Kopernika w Toruniu Nicolaus Copernicus University
Uniwersytet Opolski University of Opole
Instytut Fizyki Jądrowej im. H. Niewodniczańskiego PAN Institute of Nuclear Physics PAS
Instytut Maszyn Przepływowych im. R. Szewalskiego PAN Szewalski Institute of Fluid-Flow Machinery PAS
Instytut Niskich Temperatur i Badań Strukturalnych PAN Institute of Low Temperature and Structure Research PAS
Instytut Matematyczny PAN Institute of Mathematics PAS
Instytut Fizyki Molekularnej PAN Institute of Molecular Physics PAS
Instytut Chemii Fizycznej PAN Institute of Physical Chemistry PAS
Sieć Badawcza Łukasiewicz – PORT Polski Ośrodek Rozwoju Technologii Lukasiewicz Research Network – PORT Polish Center for Technology Development
Uniwersytet Rzeszowski University of Rzeszow
Uniwersytet Śląski w Katowicach University of Silesia in Katowice
Politechnika Śląska Silesian University of Technology
Uniwersytet Warszawski University of Warsaw
Politechnika Warszawska Warsaw University of Technology
Uniwersytet Wrocławski University of Wroclaw
Politechnika Łódzka Lodz University of Technology
Centrum Fizyki Teoretycznej PAN Center for Theoretical Physics PAS
Politechnika Wrocławska Wroclaw University of Science and Technology