Researchers from institutions within the German National Consortium

IOP Publishing (IOP) has a transformative agreement with TIB – Leibniz Information Centre for Science and Technology to enable a transition towards open access publishing.

All current staff members, researchers and students can take advantage of this agreement, where all eligible research articles will be published on an open access basis at no cost to authors. For articles accepted from 1 Jan 2022 onwards, all IOP and the majority of our partner journals that offer hybrid or gold open access options are included in the agreement.

Click here for a list of eligible journals. This agreement includes journals in List A, B and D. Please note that while the Article Publication Charge (APC) is covered, any page charge or publication fees unrelated to open access are not included in our open access agreements.

How to take advantage of the agreement

This process applies to all primary research article types, including Letters, Papers, Reviews and Special Issue articles.

  1. Submission
    The corresponding (submitting) author must be a current staff member, researcher or student of a subscribing institution (listed below). When you submit your article, please supply your affiliation clearly in the article submission form and in the article itself for identification. Please also acknowledge any research funding if asked during submission as well as in the manuscript itself.
  2. At first decision
    If your article is identified you will be notified during the peer-review process or shortly after acceptance, and your paper will automatically be opted in to open access. You’ll be asked to agree to the CC-BY open access licence.
  3. Publication
    All validated articles are published with a CC-BY license at no cost to the author and comply with any funder mandates for open access.

If you have not been alerted before your article is accepted, please contact the journal to ensure that your work is included in the arrangement.

You may also contact the German National Consortium at:


Institutions included

Brandenburgische Technische Universität Cottbus-Senftenberg
Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und -prüfung
Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg
Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY)
Deutsche Patent- und Markenamt (DPMA)
Deutsches Zentrum für Luftund Raumfahrt (DLR)
Universität Greifswald
European Molecular Biology Laboratory
Fachhochschule Bielefeld
Fachhochschule Münster
Forschungsverbund Berlin (MBI, FBH, PDI, IKZ)
Forschungszentrum Jülich
Freie Universität Berlin
Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main
GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung
Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf
Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon
Helmholtz-Zentrum München
Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Umwelt und Gesundheit
Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)
Universität der Bundeswehr Hamburg
Hochschule Emden/Leer
Hochschule Karlsruhe
Hochschule Mittweida
Hochschule RheinMain
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Jade Hochschule
Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Leibniz Universität Hannover/TIB
Leibniz-Institut für Festkörperund Werkstoffforschung Dresden (IFW)
Leibniz-Institut für innovative Mikroelektronik (IHP)
Leibniz-Institut für Neue Materialien (INM)
Leibniz-Institut für Plasmaforschung und Technologie (INP)
Leibniz-Institut für Polymerforschung Dresden (IPF)
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Mathematische Forschungsinstitut Oberwolfach (MFO)
Medizinische Hochschule Hannover
Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg
Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB)
Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen
Technische Universität
Bergakademie Freiberg
Technische Universität Braunschweig
Technische Universität Chemnitz
Technische Universität Darmstadt
Technische Universitat Dortmund
Technische Universität Dresden
Technische Universität Hamburg
Technische Universität Ilmenau
Technische Universität Kaiserslautern
Technische Universität München
Universität Bayreuth
Universität Bielefeld
Universität Duisburg-Essen
Universität Kassel
Universität Konstanz
Universität Leipzig
Universität Paderborn
Universität Potsdam
Universität Regensburg
Universität Rostock
Universität Siegen
Universität Stuttgart
Universität Ulm
Weierstraß-Institut für Angewandte Analysis und Stochastik (WIAS)
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster