Skip to content
IOP Science

Materials Research Express

Editorial board

The Editor-in-Chief of Materials Research Express provides leadership and management of the Editorial Boards and influences the strategy of the Journal, in co-operation with the Publisher.

The Editorial Boards consist of an Executive Editorial Board, focusing on advocacy and commissioning, and a non-executive Editorial Board, focusing on advocacy and peer review, with membership of both Editorial Boards comprising groups of prominent scientists in the Journal’s field. The role of the Editorial Boards is to act as ambassadors for the Journal and IOPP; to foster strong and loyal relationships between the Journal and the scientific community and to channel community feedback to IOPP.

Materials Research Express also has an advisory panel.


Yi Cao, Nanjing University, China

Professor Yi Cao received his bachelor’s degree in 2001 and Master’s degree (Supervisor: Prof. Xiqun Jiang) in 2004 from Nanjing University. He then obtained his PhD in 2009 from the University of British Columbia (Supervisor: Prof. Hongbin Li). After a one-year postdoc at the same place, he started his independent career at the Department of Physics, Nanjing University as a full professor in 2010. His work was recognized by several awards including the 2014 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Biological Physics, the 2018 Young Innovator Award in Nanobiotechnology by Nano Research, and the 2019 Young Scientist Award from the Biomedical Polymer Materials Division of the Chinese Society for Biomaterials.


Judy Wu, University of Kansas, USA

Professor Judy Wu is a Distinguished Professor of Physics at the University of Kansas. She received her PhD from the University of Houston. She is an experimental condensed matter physicist and is specialized in fabrication, characterization and device applications of thin films and nanostructures. Her current research focuses on understanding the interfaces in ultrathin metal-insulator-metal tunnel junctions including Josephson tunnel junctions, magnetic tunnel junctions, memristors for quantum and neuromorphic computing, and in graphene-based heterostructures nanohybrids quantum sensors including photodetectors, strain/bio/gas/chemical sensors.

Executive Editorial Board

D D Sarma, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India

Israel Felner, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel

Mariana Fraga, Federal University of São Paulo, UNIFESP, São José dos Campos, Brazil

Sarbajit Banerjee,  Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, USA

Editorial Board

Ajeet K. Kaushik, Florida Polytechnic University, USA

Alejandro D. Rey, McGill University, Canada

Ali Zolfagharian, Deakin University, Australia

Chuantong Chen, Osaka University, Japan

Dimitrios Maroudas, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA, USA

Fei Sun, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China

Francesco Fuso, Università di Pisa, Italy

Gang Zhang, Institute of High Performance Computing, Singapore

Grzegorz Ludwik Golewski, Lublin University of Technology, Poland

Hamdi Torun, Northumbria University, UK

Irving P. Herman, Columbia University, USA

Jeong Min Park, Korea Institute of Materials Science (KIMs), South Korea

Jian-Min Li, Zhejiang University, China

J. Paulo Davim, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal

K. Khairurrijal, Institut Teknologi Bandung and Institut Teknologi Sumatera, Indonesia

Lingxiang Jiang, South China University of Technology, China

Luisa Whittaker-Brooks, University of Utah, USA

Małgorzata Norek, Military University of Technology, Poland

Marco Alfano, University of Waterloo, Canada

Maria Chatzinikolaidou, University of Crete, Greece

Maria Vesna Nikolić, University of Belgrade – Institute for Multidisciplinary Research, Serbia

Marie-Christine Record, Aix Marseille University, France

Marta Marmiroli, University of Parma, Italy

Moinuddin Mohammed Quazi, Universiti Malaysia Pahang Al-Sultan Abdullah, Malaysia

Oleksandr Glushko, Montanuniversitat Leoben, Austria

Piraviperumal Malar, SRM Institute of Science and Technology, India

Qiang Wei, Sichuan University, China

Rajinder Pal, University of Waterloo, Canada

Salim Ahmed Barbhuiya, University of East London, UK

Sheng Guo, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

Su-Mi Hur, Chonnam National University, South Korea

Way Foong Lim, Universiti Sains Malaysia, Malaysia

Wei Huang, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China (UESTC), China

Yogendra Kumar Mishra, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark

Zhiyong Tang, National Center for Nanoscience and Technology, China

Wei Zhu, South China University of Technology, China

Hui Yao, Beijing University of Technology, China

Back to top