Skip to content
IOP Science

Journal of Physics: Photonics

Editorial board


The Editor-in-Chief leads the editorial strategy of the journal and works with the in-house editorial team and the Editorial Board to ensure the journal delivers the highest standards of peer review and coverage of the most significant advances in the field of photonics research. The Editor-in-Chief provides final arbitration for any scientific disputes arising within the peer review process.

The Editor-in-Chief is supported by an Executive Editorial Board who will work with the in-house editorial team to identify emerging hot topics and potential Guest Editors and Editorial Board Members.

The international Editorial Board includes prominent researchers and emerging leaders from all areas of photonics research. They represent all geographic regions and support the rapid peer review of author manuscripts.


Prof Hugo Thienpont, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

Hugo Thienpont is a professor at the Faculty of Engineering of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) and VUB vice- chancellor for Innovation and Industrial Policy. He currently chairs the Applied Physics and Photonics Department and directs the Brussels Photonics innovation centre B-PHOT. His research work in the domain of micro-photonics and micro-optics has been internationally recognised with several awards. In 2016 KULeuven honoured Hugo with the “Belgian Franqui Chair” for his achievements in photonics. He has served on the programme committees of numerous photonics-related conferences organized by international societies like SPIE, IEEE, OSA, EOS and ICO. He is also vice-president of Photonics 21, Europe’s Photonics Public Private Partnership and recently became coordinator of the Photonics Innovation Incubator ACTPHAST4.0, the European Commission flagship project to support SMEs with photonics expertise and technologies.

Executive Editorial Board

Kishan Dholakia, University of St Andrews, UK

John Dudley, Femto-ST, France

Javier Garcia de Abajo, Catalan Institution for Research and Advanced Studies (ICREA) and Institut de Ciencies Fotoniques (ICFO), Spain

Tie Jun Cui, Southeast University, China

Andrew Kirk, McGill University, Canada

Malgorzata Kujawinska, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland

Laura Lechuga, ICN2, Spain

Roberta Ramponi, Politecnico Miano, Italy

Maciej Trusiak, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland

Manijeh Razeghi, Northwestern University, USA

Shin-Tson Wu, University of Florida, USA

Aydogan Ozcan, University of California, Los Angeles, USA

Editorial Board

Giorgio Adamo, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Can Bayram, University of Illinois, USA

Sonia Buckley, NIST, USA

Ben-Hur Borges, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil

Francesca Calegari, DESY, Germany

Liangcai Cao, Tsinghua University, China

Ziming Chen, Imperial College London, UK

Jin Luo Cheng, Changchun Institute of Optics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Tracey Clarke, UCL, UK

Dawei Di, Zhejiang University, China

Ksenia Dolgaleva, University of Ottawa, Canada

Maria Farsari, IESL-FORTH, Greece

Francesco Ferranti, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

Feng Gao, Linköping University, Sweden

Kazuue Fujita,Central Research Laboratory, Hamamatsu Photonics K.K., Japan

Simonetta Grilli, ISASI-CNR, Italy

Fatima Gunning, University College Cork, Ireland

Alois Herkommer, Universitat Stuttgart, Germany

Pedram Khalili, Northwestern University, USA

Xinfeng Liu, National Center for Nanoscience and Technology, China

Mirko Lobino, University of Trento, Italy

Alejandro Manjavacas, Institute of Optics, CSIC, Spain

Cesar Jauregui Misas, Friedrich-Schiller-Universitat Jena, Germany

Galan Moody, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA

Eden Morales Narvaez, Center for Applied Physics and Advanced Technology, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), Mexico

Nikos Pleros, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece

Hannah Price, University of Birmingham, UK

Jessica Ramella-Roman, Florida International University, USA

Gaetano Scamarcio, University of Bari, Italy

Chongxin Shan, Zhengzhou University, China

Bhavin Shastri, Queen’s University, Canada

Ruth Shinar, Iowa State University, USA

Shobha Shukla, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India

Lien Smeesters, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

Fang-Wen Sun, University of Science and Technology of China, China

Paola Taroni, Politecnico Miano, Italy

John Travers, Heriot Watt University, UK

Nathalie Vermeulen, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

Giovanni Volpe, University of Gothenburg, Sweden

Wenfeng Xia , King’s College London, UK

Han Zhang, Shenzhen University, China

Meng Zhang, Beihang University, China

Qing Zhang, Peking University, China

Back to top