Skip to content
IOP Science

Journal of Physics: Energy

Editorial board

The Editor-in-Chief leads the editorial strategy of the journal and works with the in-house editorial team and the Editorial Board to ensure the journal delivers the highest standards of peer review and coverage of the most significant advances in the field. The Editor-in-Chief provides final arbitration for any scientific disputes arising within the peer review process and is supported by a Senior Advisory Panel who work with the in-house editorial team to identify emerging hot topics and potential Guest Editors and Editorial Board Members.

The international Editorial Board includes prominent researchers and emerging leaders from all areas of energy research. They represent all geographic regions and support the rapid peer review of author manuscripts.


John Irvine is Professor of Chemistry and leader of the JTSI group – Energy and Materials at the University of St Andrews. He is the co-director of the Energy Technology Partnership, and co-director of the current Supergen Hydrogen and Fuel Cell hub. John’s group investigates fundamental electrochemistry, solid state chemistry and materials science addressing critical energy problems. His research has been recognised by several national and international awards, including the RSC Sustainable Energy Award in 2015. He has held senior visiting appointments in the USA, Australia and China and has links with many leading laboratories across the Chinese Academy of Science, including being Thousand Talents professor at Fujian Institute of Research on the Structure of Matter.

Listen to Professor Irvine talk to the Physics World team in 2018 about his ambition and vision for the journal for the next few years.

Executive Editorial Board

Detlef Bahnemann, Saint-Petersburg State University, Russia

Hui-Ming Cheng, Institute of Metal Research, China

Patrik Johansson, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

Ho Seok Park, Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea

Nini Pryds, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark

Jennifer Rupp, MIT, USA

Aron Walsh, Imperial College London, UK

Lianzhou Wang, The University of Queensland, Australia

Editorial board

Nongnuch Artrith, Utrecht University, the Netherlands

Natalie Banerji, University of Bern, Switzerland

Anja Bieberle-Hütter, Dutch Institute for Fundamental Energy Research (DIFFER), the Netherlands

Suddhasatwa Basu, CSIR – IMMT Institute of Minerals and Materials Technology, India

Jan-Willem Bos, University of St Andrews, UK

Jun Cheng, Xiamen University, China

Martin Dornheim, University of Nottingham, UK

Mari-Ann Einarsrud, NTNU, Norway

Robert Freer, University of Manchester, UK

Marina Freitag, Newcastle University, UK

Peter Holtappels, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany

Yun Jeong Hwang, Seoul National University, South Korea

Tony Kucernak, Imperial College London, UK

Jin-Wook Lee, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea

Jong-Ho Lee, Korea Institute of Science and Technology (KIST), Korea

Feng Li, Institute of Metal Research Chinese Academy of Sciences (IMR CAS), China

Gang Liu, Institute of Metal Research Chinese Academy of Sciences (IMR CAS), China

Tongbu Lu, Tianjin University of Technology, China

Michael Lototskyy, University of the Western Cape, South Africa

Jianmin Ma, Hunan University, China

Ian Metcalfe, Newcastle University, UK

Ana Flavia Nogueira, Chemistry Institute at UNICAMP, Brazil

Satishchandra Ogale, Research Institute for Sustainable Energy (TCG-CREST), Kolkata and IISER, Pune, India

Ryan O’Hayre, Colorado School of Mines, USA

Mauro Pasta, University of Oxford, UK

Peter Robertson, Queen’s University Belfast, UK

Edgardo Saucedo, Polytechnic University of Catalonia, Spain

Claudia Schnohr, Leipzig University, Germany

Yogesh Kumar Sharma, Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee, India

Ifan Stephens, Imperial College London, UK

Albert Tarancon Rubio, Catalonia Institute for Energy Research-IREC, Spain

Paz Vaqueiro, University of Reading, UK

Da-Wei Wang, UNSW Sydney, Australia

Deli Wang, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China

Kui Xie, Fujian Institute of Research on the Structure of Matter, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Yang Xu, University College London, UK

Andriy Zakutayev, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), USA

Ni Zhao, Chinese University of Hong Kong, China

Back to top