Skip to content
IOP Science

Smart Materials and Structures: 2016 Reviewer Awards

Reviewer of the Year: Dr Jochen Moll, Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany

Dr Jochen Moll believes that peer review is essential for a functioning scientific community, and therefore feels it his duty to contribute to the scientific quality assurance of publications.

Before recommending a paper, Dr Moll likes to see a detailed literature review that discusses the latest, most relevant articles. Taking the time to compile one automatically leads to a statement of novelty, he says. Similarly, articles that have a theoretical or numerical focus should include an experimental validation.

Reviewing for Smart Materials and Structures provides Dr Moll with the opportunity to be at the forefront of new developments in his field, and therefore broadens the range of his knowledge. For example, he recently enjoyed reading Guided wave based structural health monitoring: a review, which investigates many of the important elements of materials and structures research, such as modelling, experimental analysis and applications in real-life structures.

In addition, Dr Moll appreciates the social aspects of refereeing, understanding that authors will have taken months, perhaps years, to prepare their paper. For him, peer review is a balancing act between a robust critique and an encouraging evaluation. Certainly, Dr Moll is gratified when authors take on board his suggestions and is delighted to have been recognized for his efforts by the Reviewer of the Year award.

Outstanding Reviewers:

  • Dr M Shahria Alam, University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Dr Jacek Bajkowski, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland
  • Dr Atanu Banerjee, Indian Institute of Technology, India
  • Professor Dr Fabricio Baptista, UNESP – Univ Estadual Paulista, Brazil
  • Professor Dr Michel Brissaud, INSA, France
  • Dr Stephen Burrow, University of Bristol, UK
  • Professor Kyungho Chung, The University of Suwon, Republic of Korea
  • Professor Oemer Civalek, Akdeniz University, Turkey
  • Dr James Dabney, University of Houston – Clear Lake, United States
  • Dr Murat Demiral, Çankaya University, Turkey
  • Dr Paul Fromme, University College London, UK
  • Professor Ali Ghorbanpour Arani, Kashan University, Iran
  • Dr Torsten Granzow, Centre de Recherche Public – Gabriel Lippmann, Luxembourg
  • Professor YongAn Huang, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
  • Professor Weimin Huang, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Professor Eric Jacquelin, Universite Claude Bernard – Lyon I, France
  • Dr Yong Jung, Konkuk University, Republic of Korea
  • Dr Tuncay Kamas, Eskisehir Osmangazi University, Turkey
  • Dr Kunitomo Kikuchi, Wakayama University, Japan
  • Dr Asimina Kiourti, Ohio State Univ, United States
  • Dr Guggi Kofod, Universität Potsdam, Germany
  • Professor Chad Landis, University of Texas at Austin, United States
  • Professor Robert Lark, Cardiff University, UK
  • Professor Sang-Kwon Lee, Chung-Ang University, Republic of Korea
  • Professor Yonggang Leng, Tianjin University, China
  • Mr Brian T Lester, Sandia National Laboratories, United States
  • Dr Guo-Qing Li, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
  • Professor Ferrara Liberato, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Dr Gerhard Liedl, Technische Universitaet Wien, Austria
  • Professor Zishun Liu, Xi’an Jiaotong University, China
  • Dr Yongming Liu, Arizona State University, United States
  • Professor Kanjuro Makihara, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Professor Patrice Masson, Universite de Sherbrooke, Canada
  • Dr Ian McKinley, University of California – Los Angeles, United States
  • Dr Il-Kwon Oh, KAIST, Republic of Korea
  • Mr Ehsan Omidi, The University of Alabama, United States
  • Dr Viljar Palmre, University of Nevada-Las Vegas, United States
  • Dr Kudela Pawel, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
  • Dr Roland Platz, Fraunhofer Institute for Structural Durability and System Reliability, Germany
  • Dr Lei Qiao, Abbott Laboratories, United States
  • Dr Natalia Resnina, Saint-Petersburg State University, Russia
  • Dr Samuel Rosset, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Dr Stephan Rudykh, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
  • Dr Ismail Sahin, Sakarya University, Turkey
  • Dr John Sakellariou, University of Patras, Greece
  • Dr Stephen Sarles, University of Tennessee, United States
  • Professor T Sawada, Keio University, Japan
  • Dr Jun Shintake, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Dr Anuvat Sirivat, Chulalongkorn University, Thailand
  • Dr Anne Skov, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  • Professor Hoon Sohn, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea
  • Professor Dr Jung Woo Sohn, Kumoh National Institute of Technology, Republic of Korea
  • Dr Arun Srinivasa, Texas A&M University, United States
  • Mr Zhenhua Tian, University of South Carolina, United States
  • Professor Ulrike Wallrabe, Universitaet Freiburg, Germany
  • Dr Hongbo Wang, Florida State University, United States
  • Dr Taylor Ware, University of Texas at Dallas, United States
  • Dr T Wolfe, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Dr Yangguang Xu, University of Science and Technology of China, China
  • Dr Rui Xu, Natl Univ Def Technol, China
  • Professor Jinxiong Zhou, Xi’an Jiaotong University, China
  • Dr Hai-Tao Zhu, Tianjin University, China