Skip to content
IOP Science

Measurement Science and Technology: 2016 Reviewer Awards

Reviewer of the Year: Dr Jože Kutin, University of Ljubljana, Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, Slovenia

Working in fluid flow and pressure metrology—subjects that are also a feature of Measurement Science and Technology—Dr Jože Kutin will accept an invitation to referee if the paper corresponds to his field of expertise, interest and ability to meet the review schedule.

When reviewing, Dr Kutin looks for the paper’s central idea and whether it takes into account already-available findings in the scientific literature. He lays stress upon the correctness of the research methodology and the results, as well as clarity in the presentation.

According to Dr Kutin, refereeing is a form of cooperation between researchers; and, as a reviewer, he feels he is contributing to the quality of presented scientific papers and, consequently, to a positive development of his research field.

Overall, Dr Kutin believes that the current peer-review process is good in journals with editorial advisory boards and structured reviewer databases comprising highly qualified professionals. It is important that papers are reviewed by experts, he says, who are able to provide a critical judgement about the authors’ research contribution.

His advice to first-time reviewers is to bear in mind that remarks should be clearly argued and supported by objective evidence. In this way, authors will be more amenable to making corrections,  increasing the likelihood of valuable discussions.

Outstanding Reviewers:

  • Professor Massimiliano Avalle, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
  • Dr M Bakker, Technische Universiteit Delft, Netherlands
  • Mr Qingzhong Cai, Beihang University, China
  • Dr Ayan Chakrabarty, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, United States
  • Dr Valeri Chikovani, Natsional’nij aviatsiynyi universitet, Ukraine
  • Dr Sejong Chun, Korea Research Institute of Standards and Science, Republic of Korea
  • Dr Mark Clarkson, Callaghan Innovation, New Zealand
  • Dr Moises Cywiak, Centro de Investigaciones Opticas, Mexico
  • Professor Paulo de Brito Andre, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal
  • Professor Richard Dewhurst, The University of Manchester, UK
  • Dr G Dimitrakis, University of Nottingham, UK
  • Dr Gerrit Elsinga, Technische Universiteit Delft, Netherlands
  • Dr Ruimin Feng, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, United States
  • Dr Noriyuki Furuichi, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, National Metrology Institute of Japan, Japan
  • Professor Patrick Gane, Omya AG, Switzerland
  • Professor John Girkin, Durham University, UK
  • Dr Adam Glowacz, Akademia Gorniczo-Hutnicza im Stanislawa Staszica w Krakowie, Poland
  • Dr Gregor Goett, Leibniz Institut fuer Plasmaforschung und Technologie, Germany
  • Dr Rainer Hain, Universitat der Bundeswehr Munchen, Germany
  • Dr Han Haitjema, Mitutoyo Research Centre Europe, Netherlands
  • Dr Peter Harris, National Physical Laboratory, UK
  • Dr Kenichi Hibino, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology Ibaraki, Japan
  • Dr Udo Kaatze, Universitaet Goettingen, Germany
  • Mr Hyoungsoo Kim, Princeton University, United States
  • Dr Ludger Koenders, Physikalisch – Technische Bundesanstalt, Germany
  • Professor D Koon, St Lawrence University, United States
  • Dr R Koops, VSL Dutch Metrology Institute, Netherlands
  • Dr Christine Kranz, Universitaet Ulm, Germany
  • Dr Nicolas Lammens, UGent, Belgium
  • Professor Sang Joon Lee, Pohang University of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea
  • Dr Xiang Li, Xidian University, China
  • Dr Xianming Liu, Chongqing University, China
  • Dr Guigen Liu, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, United States
  • Dr Jiazhen Lu, Beijing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China
  • Dr Andrew Malcolm, Singapore Institute of Manufacturing Technology, Singapore
  • Dr A Martinez Olmos, Universidad de Granada, Spain
  • Dr Jimmie Miller, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte, United States
  • Dr M Mohd Noor, The University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Dr Arden Moore, Louisiana Tech University, United States
  • Dr Jody Muelaner, University of Bath, UK
  • Professor Dr Yuichi Murai, Hokkaido University, Japan
  • Dr Tuck Ng, Monash University, Australia
  • Dr Roberto Olmi, CNR – Istituto di Fisica Applicata ‘Nello Carrara’, Italy
  • Professor Chansik Park, Chungbuk National University, Republic of Korea
  • Professor Lihui Peng, Tsinghua University, China
  • Dr Stefan Persijn, VSL, Netherlands
  • Dr Steven Phillips, National Institute of Standards and Technology, United States
  • Dr Primoz Podrzaj, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Dr Igor Prikhodko, Analog Device Inc., United States
  • Professor Agustin Salazar, Universidad del Pais Vasco – Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea, Spain
  • Dr Silvia María Satorres Martínez, University of Jaen, Spain
  • Dr Frank Scholze, Physikalisch – Technische Bundesanstalt, Germany
  • Dr Liang Shu, Wenzhou University, China
  • Dr Joel Silver, Southwest Sciences Inc., United States
  • Professor Allan Spence, McMaster University, Canada
  • Professor Jo Spronck, Technische Universiteit Delft, Netherlands
  • Dr Alexandr Stupakov, Institute of Physics ASCR, Czech Republic
  • Dr Yang Su, PLA University of Science and Technology, China
  • Dr Osamu Terashima, Toyama Prefectural University, Japan
  • Dr M van Veghel, VSL, Netherlands
  • Dr Dong Wang, City University of Hong Kong, China
  • Dr Peng Wang, Tianjin University, China
  • Professor Fei Wang, Southern University of Science and Technology, China
  • Mr Xiaoyi Wang, Beijing University of Technology, China
  • Professor Mi Wang, University of Leeds, UK
  • Dr William Wang, University of Sussex, UK
  • Dr Xin Wang, Northwestern University, United States
  • Dr Richard Whalley, Newcastle University, UK
  • Professor Michal Wieczorowski, Poznan University of Technology, Poland
  • Mr B Wieneke, LaVision GmbH, Germany
  • Dr Cheng Xie, Schlumberger Cambridge Research Centre, UK
  • Professor Dr Guan Xu, Jilin University, China
  • Dr Hua Yan, Shenyang University of Technology, China
  • Dr Wang yanqing, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Academy of Opto-electronics, China
  • Dr Wuliang Yin, The University of Manchester, UK
  • Professor Bernhard Zagar, Johannes-Kepler-Universitat Linz, Austria
  • Dr Yinan Zhang, Lumentum, United States