Skip to content
IOP Science

Materials Research Express: 2016 Reviewer Awards

Reviewer of the Year: Dr Christopher Jeynes, University of Surrey, UK

Professor Chris Jeynes believes there is no perfect peer review method, but that however it comes we need it to discourage ‘bad’ papers and to improve ‘good’ ones.

He has some candid advice for reviewers (first-time and experienced), authors and editors alike.  He says:

‘Reviewers:  you are the gate-keepers!  You must insist on sound arguments and data, informative titles, accurate abstracts, and fluent and masterly introductions. It is up to the author to persuade you that their research is both valid and valuable.

Authors:  remember that reviewers are not God:  it is good practice to argue your point!  But also remember, it is your job to persuade reviewers—who are hard pressed for time—that your paper is worthy.  You should conduct your own internal review before submitting it, and then welcome tough reviews since it is a paper’s legacy that is guaranteed by careful reviewers.

Editors:  remember that your reviewers are not God, no one has a monopoly on truth just as no one is free from error!  It is your job to oversee the peer review process so that better papers result.  You should encourage creative argument between reviewers and authors!

In all this, of course sound science is essential, as is a good command of the literature.  Reviewing papers that offer a coherent, timely, interesting and important story make it all worthwhile!’

Outstanding Reviewers:

  • Dr Mohd Yusri Abd Rahman, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, Malaysia
  • Dr Rachid Baghdad, Universite Ibn Khaldoun de Tiaret, Algeria
  • Dr Debashis Bandyopadhyay, Birla Institute of Technology and Science Pilani, India
  • Dr Rajasekhar Bhimireddi, Indian Institute of Science, India
  • Dr R Bolmaro, Instituto de Física Rosario, CONICET, Argentina
  • Dr Gunther Brunklaus, Westfalische Wilhelms Universitat Munster, Germany
  • Dr Abhijeet Budruk, Intel Corp Hillsboro, United States
  • Professor Gloria Buendia, Universidad Simon Bolivar, Venezuela
  • Dr Yanping Cao, Tsinghua University, China
  • Professor Dr Jian Chen, Southeast University, China
  • Dr Houyang Chen, University at Buffalo – SUNY, United States
  • Dr B H Y Corcoran, University of Sydney, Australia
  • Dr Rodolfo Cruz-Silva, Shinshu University, Japan
  • Dr Albert Dato, University of California – Berkeley, United States
  • Professor Kentaro Doi, Osaka University, Japan
  • Dr Yong-Hua Duan, Kunming University of Science and Technology, China
  • Professor Jiyang Fan, Southeast University, China
  • Dr Martin Friak, Institute of Physics of Materials, Germany
  • Dr Fethullah Gunes, Izmir Katip Celebi University, Turkey
  • Professor Masataka Hakamada, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Dr Baoshan Hu, Chongqing University, China
  • Dr Chuan-Lei Jia, China University of Mining and Technology, China
  • Dr Shaohua Jiang, Bayreuth University, Germany
  • Dr Itaru Kamiya, Toyota Technological Institute, Japan
  • Professor Dong-Hau Kuo, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan
  • Dr Jianmin Li, Zhejiang University, China
  • Dr Lingyan Liang, Chinese Academy of Sciences – Ningbo Institute of Materials Technology and Engineering, China
  • Dr Jinyun Liu, Chinese Academy of Sciences – Intelligent Machines Institute, China
  • Professor Chee Liu, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Dr Enzhou Liu, Northwest University, United States
  • Dr Roberto López, UAEM, Mexico
  • Dr Magdalena-Valentina Lungu, National Institute for Research and Development in Electrical Engineering ICPE-CA, Romania
  • Dr Jie Ma, Tongji University, China
  • Dr M Mahdi, University Sains Malaysia, Malaysia
  • Mrs Sarita Mann, Panjab University, India
  • Dr Ambrose Melvin, NCL, India
  • Professor Dionysios Mouzakis, University of Athens, Greece
  • Dr Shaibal Mukherjee, Indian Institute of Technology – Indore, India
  • Dr Ghulam Murtaza, Government College University Lahore, Pakistan
  • Professor Li Nu, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Professor Alessio Perrone, Universita del Salento, Italy
  • Professor Kandasamy Prabakar, PUnited Statesn National University, Republic of Korea
  • Dr Kakarla Raghava Reddy, The University of Sydney, Australia
  • Professor Dr Erwan Rauwel, Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia
  • Professor Guenter Reiss, Universitat Bielefeld, Germany
  • Professor Georgeta Salvan, Technische Universitat Chemnitz, Germany
  • Dr S M Sapuan, University Putra Malaysia, Malaysia
  • Dr Maheshwar Shrestha, Michigan State University, United States
  • Dr Piyush Solanki, Saurashtra University, India
  • Dr Marin Tadic, Institut za nuklearne nauke Vinca, Serbia
  • Dr L Tang, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • Dr Joseph P Thomas, Univ. of Waterloo, Canada
  • Dr M V Ulybyshev, University of Regensburg, Germany
  • Dr Guanglei Wang, Arizona State University, United States
  • Dr Hua Wei, Radiation Monitoring Devices, Inc, United States
  • Dr Humphrey Yiu, Heriot-Watt University, UK
  • Dr Nadia Zurba, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal