Skip to content
IOP Science

Journal of Physics G: Nuclear and Particle Physics: 2016 Reviewer Awards

Reviewer of the Year: Dr Christian Beck

The Journal of Physics G: Nuclear and Particle Physics is one of the highest-ranking nuclear physics journals, and includes both experimental and theoretical articles. Considering its high impact factor, Dr Christian Beck demands that the papers he reviews are rigorous and original; authors must be meticulous in the presentation of their results and include a bibliography. If any of these requirements are lacking, he will reject the manuscript.

Interestingly, one paper Dr Beck particularly enjoyed working on has not been accepted for publication. Although both of his reports were positive, a second referee did not share his views. This type of opposition does not deter Dr Beck. On the contrary, he finds it rewarding to come across differences in opinion. He is also gratified when authors take on board his suggestions and implement changes.

Both surprised and proud to have been awarded the Reviewer of the Year accolade, Dr Beck has three points of advice for those who are embarking on the peer review process for the first time: look out for originality and accuracy; write a full report that includes a list of typos, false statements that need correcting, a general overview and suggestions; and finally, assess how the work advances the field, both experimentally and theoretically, and whether it offers a fresh perspective.

Outstanding Reviewers:

  • Professor F Avignone, University of South Carolina – Columbia, United States
  • Professor A Balantekin, University of Wisconsin at Madison, United States
  • Dr Roelof Bijker, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico – Coyoacan, Mexico
  • Professor Richard Casten, Yale University, United States
  • Dr Rajdeep Chatterjee, Indian Institute of Technology, India
  • Dr Sergei Chekanov, Argonne National Laboratory, United States
  • Dr V Yu Denisov, INR, Ukraine
  • Dr Henning Esbensen, Argonne National Laboratory, United States
  • Professor Frank Filthaut, Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands
  • Dr Gerald Garvey, Los Alamos National Laboratory, United States
  • Dr Yi Gu, Stony Brook University, United States
  • Dr Kouichi Hagino, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Dr Christoph Hanhart, Forschungszentrum Juelich, Germany
  • Professor Sigurd Hofmann, GSI Helmholtzzentrum fur Schwerionenforschung GmbH, Germany
  • Professor M Ivanov, Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, Russia
  • Dr Valery Lyubovitskij, Universitaet Tuebingen, Germany
  • Dr Grant Mathews, University of Notre Dame, France
  • Professor Steve Moszkowski, University of California – Los Angeles, United States
  • Professor Per Osland, Universitetet i Bergen, Norway
  • Dr Orlando Peres, Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Brazil
  • Professor Dr Piero Quarati, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
  • Professor Thomas Rauscher, University of Hertfordshire, UK and University of Basel, Switzerland
  • Professor Zhong-Zhou Ren, Nanjing University, China
  • Professor Guy Royer, SUBATECH – Ecole des Mines de Nantes, France
  • Dr Nicholas Scielzo, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, United States
  • Professor Dr Alfredo Valcarce, University of Salamanca, Spain
  • Dr Petr Vogel, California Institute of Technology, United States