Skip to content
IOP Science

Journal of Physics B: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics: 2016 Reviewer Awards

Reviewer of the Year: Professor Aurelien Dantan, Aarhus University, Denmark

There are two primary reasons why Professor Aurelien Dantan referees for the Journal of Physics B: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics. First, he regards the peer review process as an important service to the scientific community. Second, he reviews out of curiosity. As a reviewer, he finds it inspiring to be party to new physics research, whether specifically related to his field or not.

For this second reason, Professor Dantan expresses his interest in the article Nonlinear quantum optics mediated by Rydberg interactions, which he thought gives a concise and accessible review of the latest developments in this ‘exciting field’.

When reviewing, Professor Dantan wants to see a clear and rigorous presentation and interpretation of the results. It is also important that the paper adds something new to existing knowledge. His advice to first-time reviewers is to be thorough and fair, and to put forward as much constructive criticism as possible.

Professor Dantan feels honoured to have been recognized for his efforts through the Reviewer of the Year award. He believes reviewers should be acknowledged, particularly in view of the fact that there are an ever-increasing number of papers and journals. This puts a heavy burden on the shoulders of referees, he says, and threatens to diminish both the quality of the peer review process and the feedback to authors. One suggestion he has is to heighten editorial filtering, which would mean rejecting (possibly anonymously) more papers that are clearly not up to journal standards.

Outstanding Reviewers:

  • Dr Zikri Altun, Marmara University, Turkey
  • Professor Edward Armour, University of Nottingham, UK
  • Professor Henri Bachau, Universite de Bordeaux I, France
  • Professor Dr Dieter Bauer, Universitat Rostock, Germany
  • Dr Wilhelm Becker, Max-Born-Institut fuer Nichtlineare Optik und Kurzzeitspektroskopie, Germany
  • Professor E Benis, The University of Ioannina, Greece
  • Dr Anand Bhatia, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, United States
  • Dr Wei Cao, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, United States
  • Dr Kalyan Chakrabarti, Scottish Church College, University of Calcutta, India
  • Dr Joel Corney, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Dr C Dal Cappello, Universite de Lorraine, France
  • Professor Dr Ph Demekhin, University of Kassel, Germany
  • Professor He Feng, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Dr Jorge Fernandez Hernandez, European Space Astronomy Centre, Spain
  • Dr Luis Fernandez-Menchero, Drake University, United States
  • Dr L Gulyas, Magyar Tudomanyos Akademia – Atommagkutato Intezete, Hungary
  • Professor Alan Hibbert, Queen’s University Belfast, UK
  • Dr Paul Huillery, Durham University, UK
  • Dr Kari Jankala, University of Oulu, Finland
  • Dr Matthew Jones, Durham University, UK
  • Dr Nikolai Kabachnik, Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia
  • Dr Jean-Philippe Karr, Laboratoire Kastler Brossel (UPMC/CNRS/ENS/Collège de France) and Université d’Evry-Val d’Essonne, France
  • Dr Martin Kiffner, Centre for Quantum Technologies (Singapore) and University of Oxford, UK
  • Dr Kean Loon Lee, Newcastle University, UK
  • Professor Ronald McCarroll, Universite Pierre et Marie Curie, France
  • Professor M Naderi, University of Isfahan, Iran
  • Dr Sebastian Otranto, CONICET-Universidad Nacional del Sur, Argentina
  • Dr Patrick Palmeri, Universite de Mons, Belgium
  • Dr Yaroslav Pavlyukh, Martin-Luther-Universitaet Halle-Wittenberg, Germany
  • Dr Liang-You Peng, Peking University, China
  • Dr Sebastiano Peotta, Aalto University, Finland
  • Dr Yuri Ralchenko, National Institute of Standards and Technology, United States
  • Dr Sanjukta Roy, Raman Research Institute, Bangalore, India
  • Dr Bijaya Sahoo, Physical Research Laboratory, India
  • Professor Dr Sergio Sanchez, Universidade Federal do Paraná, Brazil
  • Dr Jiteng Sheng, University of Arkansas, China
  • Dr Yu-Bo Sheng, Nanjing University of Post and Telecommunications, China
  • Dr Nikolay Shvetsov-Shilovski, Leibniz University Hanover, Russia
  • Professor Andrei Sidorov, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
  • Professor Kalle-Antti Suominen, University of Turku, Finland
  • Mr Lauri Toikka, Massey University, New Zealand
  • Dr Benoît Vermersch, Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austria
  • Dr Jia Wang, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
  • Dr Sebastian Wuester, Max Planck Institute for Physic Complex System, Germany
  • Dr Keyu Xia, ARC Centre for Engineered Quantum Systems, Australia
  • Dr Xinhua Xie, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • Dr Vladislav Yakovlev, Georgia State University, Germany
  • Professor Weiping Zhang, East China Normal University, China
  • Dr Boris Zhilinskii, Universite du Littoral cote d’Opale, France