Skip to content
IOP Science

Inverse Problems: 2016 Reviewer Awards

Reviewer of the Year: Dr Jens Flemming, Chemnitz University of Technology, Germany

A modest reviewer, Dr Jens Flemming wonders why he has received the Reviewer of the Year 2016 award, considering it his responsibility as a scientist to evaluate the results of his colleagues. An Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Mathematics, Chemnitz University of Technology, Germany, he enjoys being forced—at least sometimes—to think about topics outside of the realm of his research.

When reviewing, Dr Flemming examines the proofs, looks out for ambiguity and assesses whether the study results are truly new. He also checks for typos and grammatical errors to help authors present their research in the best possible light.

Being party to the most recent developments in inverse problems is one of the most rewarding aspects of reviewing for Dr Flemming, who identified an article entitled Flexible sparse regularization as an interesting read. In it, the authors introduce flexible sparse regularization by varying exponents, as well as the corresponding functional analysis framework.

Offering sound advice to those reviewing for the first time, Dr Flemming points out that it is not safe to assume that experienced scientists make few or no mistakes. Adhere to reason and not to authors’ names, he urges.

Commenting on Inverse Problems’ peer review process overall, Dr Flemming judges it to have become well organized over the last few years. He likes reading other reviewers’ reports once the decision whether to publish the article is made, viewing it as an opportunity to calibrate his ratings for future reviews.

Outstanding Reviewers:

  • Professor Dr Stephane Andrieux, ONERA, France
  • Dr Patrick Bardsley, University of Utah, United States
  • Professor Elena Beretta, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Dr Anwei Chai, Stanford University, United States
  • Professor Luisa D’Amore, Universita di Napoli Federico II, Italy
  • Dr Nikolai Dokuchaev, Curtin University, Australia
  • Professor Michael Klibanov, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte, United States
  • Professor Alexander Leonov, Private address, Russia
  • Professor Daniel Lesnic, University of Leeds, UK
  • Professor Ignace Loris, Universite Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium
  • Dr Anar Nabiev, Cumhuriyet Universitesii, Turkey
  • Professor Sergei Pereverzyev, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austria
  • Dr Frank Schoepfer, Carl von Ossietzky Universitaet Oldenburg, Germany
  • Professor Dr Alexandre Timonov, University of South Carolina Upstate, United States
  • Dr Ting Wei, Lanzhou University, China
  • Dr Frank Werner, Max-Planck-Institut fur biophysikalische Chemie, Germany
  • Mr Yang Yang, Purdue University, United States
  • Professor Fabiana Zama, Universita degli Studi di Bologna, Italy
  • Dr Guanghui Zheng, Hunan University, China