Skip to content
IOP Science

Flexible and Printed Electronics: 2016 Reviewer Awards

Reviewer of the Year: MrEnrico Sowade, TU Chemnitz, Germany

A scientist working in the sphere of flexible and printed electronics, Mr Enrico Sowade is still as fascinated with the subject as he was when he first began researching it more than six years ago. He describes it as a fairly new field that requires interdisciplinary approaches, and he is therefore keen to promote and support Flexible and Printed Electronics.

Mr Sowade is interested in liquid deposition and printing technologies—especially inkjet printing. Flexible and printed electronics will have strong commercial applications in the future, he says. There are few international journals devoted to this field. However, the basic and applied research published in these journals is an important driver for commercialization and technology maturity in flexible and printed electronics.

When reviewing, Mr Sowade looks for a storyline, accuracy and relevant images. He pays attention to the experimental designs and results, drawing on knowledge obtained from his own research and that of others to ascertain the paper’s novelty. For Mr Sowade, the most rewarding aspect of refereeing is the opportunity it provides him to learn more about his field; for example, one article that recently captured his imagination investigated gravure-printed electronics: Gravure-printed electronics: recent progress in tooling development, understanding of printing physics, and realization of printed devices.

Mr Sowade feels honoured to have been selected for the Reviewer of the Year award. He believes that reviewers should be recognized for what can be a time-consuming task. According to Mr Sowade, there are not enough available reviewers. Therefore, rewarding their efforts helps to encourage more scientists to undertake this service.

Outstanding Reviewers:

  • Professor Isak Engquist, Linkopings universitet, Sweden
  • Dr Roland Hany, Eidgenossische Materialprufungs und Forschungsanstalt, Switzerland
  • Professor Nam Young Kim, Kwangwoon University, Republic of Korea
  • Dr David Schwartz, Palo Alto Research Center, United States